Programme area | 2 Mers Seas Zeeën

Programme area

You are here

The Programme area covers the coastal regions along the Southern North Sea and the Channel area. Four different Member States are involved: England, France, the Netherlands and Belgium, and the total area represents a total of 88,000 square kilometres.This makes it one of the largest cross-border Programmes in Europe.

Bloc 1

From the Isles of Scilly to Norfolk in England and from Somme to Texel on the continental side, the Interreg 2 Seas area covers both rural and urban territories. With a total population of about 29 million inhabitants, the area is one of the most densely populated of Europe.


A total of 59 NUTS3 regions are taking part in the Programme, which represents the following areas:

  • England: South-West, South-East and East of England
  • France: Departments of Nord, Pas de Calais, Somme and Aisne
  • Belgium (Flanders): Provinces of West-Flanders, East-Flanders and Antwerp
  • The Netherlands: Province of Zeeland and the coastal areas of the Provinces of Zuid-Holland, Noord-Holland and Noord-Brabant.
Ipswich Marina ©
Bloc 2
Programme area

The 2 Seas Programme is a maritime cross-border Programme which means that the presence of the sea is both seen as a natural barrier and a link, and thus impacts cooperation at all levels. This is directly reflected in the Cooperation Programme in which every Specific Objective can support maritime projects pursuing smart, sustainable and/or inclusive growth for the 2 seas area.


Maritime in the context of the 2 Seas Programme does not exclusively mean a direct link to the sea. It can be defined as cooperation between border maritime local communities or authorities to tackle common needs. There is therefore also a strong “territorial” dimension which distinguishes it from other Programmes covering larger maritime spaces.